Rice Pilaf

Did you know that you can make rice pilaf at home without a box of Rice a Roni? Yep, it’s actually very easy. I had never made it before but had an idea of what the process would be. I was very pleased with how it turned out and it was a hit with my husband who is a pilaf fan!

Homemade Rice Pilaf

That’s one more prepackaged food gone from my pantry! I’ve already done away with pancake and biscuit mixes. I try not to use boxed cake mix unless I’m in a real time crunch. I’m finding that keeping a well stocked pantry makes it easy to make most everything from scratch.

Ingredients:

1 cup long grain white rice (I used Basmati)

3 TBSP  orzo pasta

1 TBSP butter

1 TBSP vegetable oil

1/4 cup minced onion

1 bay leaf

2 cups water

1 TBSP chicken bouillon paste

1 TBSP dried parsley flakes

Directions:

  1. Heat butter and oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add rice and orzo and cook until lightly browned.
  2. Add onion and bay leaf, stir until onion is translucent.
  3. Add water, bouillon and parsley; stir until well combined.
  4. Allow to come to a boil, then turn down to a simmer and cover.
  5. Cook for about 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender.

Notes:

  • I think I will add a little minced fresh garlic next time, when adding the onion.
  • If you don’t have Better Than Bouillon paste, a cube of bouillon would work fine.
  • You could use chicken broth instead of water for a stronger chicken flavor.
Leave a Reply

