Super Bowl Party Food

Since the Niners are in it this year we are having some people over to watch the game. I’m not a big football fan myself, but any excuse to cook for guests and I’m in!

I don’t want to spend the afternoon in the kitchen–I’d like to visit with my guests. So I will plan a menu that can be prepped ahead and just a little cooking during the party. It also needs to be kid friendly. Here’s what I’m thinking for a menu :

Grill

Sausages – I love the Aidell’s sausage that I get in bulk from Costco. They are fully cooked chicken sausages and come in great flavor combinations. I have some Bacon, Mushroom & Swiss in the freezer right now!

Main Dish

I have a large batch of chili verde pork in the freezer. I can put it in the Crock Pot and have corn tortillas, shredded cheese, sour cream and other topping ready in “serve yourself” fashion. Kids may not eat the chili verde, but they can have a quesadilla instead.

Veggie Tray

I love preparing a beautiful veggie tray for parties. I use carrots, celery, cherry tomatoes, thin sliced yellow bell peppers, broccoli, radishes and green onions.

Tips: I get bagged whole carrots to peel and slice into sticks. The flavor is so much better than baby carrots. If serving broccoli it’s a good idea to blanch it. After chopping it into bite size florets drop into boiling water for just a few minutes, then drain and place in ice water to stop cooking. The broccoli will be tender but still firm and much tastier than raw.

Chips & Dips

I’ll make this smooth restaurant style salsa instead of fresh since tomatoes are not in season. I have a bunch of ripe avocados so I’ll probably make guacamole too. I have one of those nifty mini crock pots that’s perfect for dips, so I may make a hot spinach-artichoke dip too.

Beverages

Beer for the men of course, wine or mixed drinks for the ladies. I’ll make lemonade by the pitcher for the kids. I also keep a pitcher of water in the fridge. I don’t like serving kids soda or bottled water–they never finish it and I end up throwing away half-empty cans and bottles.

Dessert

I want this to be grab and go too, so I’m going to do cupcakes or brownies. I’m planning to do some football related decorations on top to make them fun.

I think that will cover it. Are you hosting a party to watch the game? What will you be serving? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “Super Bowl Party Food

  1. Your menu sounds yummy! Thanks for the tip on the broccoli – I never thought about that (and I totally agree that fresh whole carrots cut up taste WAY better than baby carrots!) We’re having a small group at our house, so I’ll be making pulled pork sliders (in the crock pot), oven baked chicken wings, pigs in a blanket (a huge favorite around here – Little Smokies wrapped in crescent roll dough), and of course chips, dips, and a veggie tray too. Haven’t thought about dessert yet – but we may just do brownies or cookies or something easy like that.

    Like

    • We love to do the little smokies too. I usually wrap mine in biscuit dough. I use canned biscuits cut into quarters and then rolled/stretched to go around the sausages. Have a super fun party!

      Like

Leave a Reply

