Weekly Menu Board Craft

This is a very simple weekly menu dry erase board made from a picture frame and a printed piece of paper.

20130116_160214

I saw something like this at my friend Kate’s house and thought it would be a big help for my meal planning.

I’m already using eMeals to plan my dinners for a week or more at a time. This board helps me plan which meals I’m going to cook each night and spacing them for leftover nights in between. If you are not familiar with eMeals, they are a meal planning service that provides a weekly menu with recipes and shopping lists. It’s inexpensive – about $5 a month and saves me a ton of time and money on planning and cooking dinners for our family. (I’m an affiliate, so if you decide to purchase a plan I will get a 25% commission if you use this link eMeals Easy Meals for Busy and Frugal Families.)

My husband enjoys being able to look at the menu board and see what’s for dinner. I like it because I can look ahead to determine when to move meat from the freezer to the fridge to defrost. And when I’m wondering how old some leftovers are, I just look back to see what day I made it!

Materials:

  • 8 x 10″ frame with glass. I got this one at Target for about $4
  • Decorative cardstock or stationary, or plain paper with your own graphic printed in a light color
  • Dry Erase Mini Markers

Method:

  • Print the days of the week on the paper. If you will be planning more than one week make two columns.
  • I’ve added a second column with the dry erase markers, but when I change the paper out to something spring-like I will change it to two columns of days.
  • Place in the kitchen counter or hang out-of-the-way.
20130116_160354

I placed mine near our kitchen command center (the phone, notepad and mail holder) it’s out-of-the-way but still in the kitchen area.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Menu Board Craft

Leave a Reply

