Spicy Quinoa Salad with Garbanzos, Bell Peppers and Parsley

spicy quinoa salad from www.lesserhomesandgardens.com

This is the third quinoa recipe I’ve made. I like quinoa for it’s high protein and quick cooking. I’ve found that the taste is much improved if I thoroughly rinse it prior to cooking. My husband, however, has not been impressed. In an effort to find a quinoa recipe that would tickle his taste buds I tried this spicy version.

This is by far the best quinoa recipe I’ve tried so far. I served it warm the evening I cooked it, but ate it cold as leftovers the next day. I think it’s actually better chilled!

Ingredients

2 cups quinoa, thoroghly rinsed

3 TBSP lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne

1 can garbanzo beans (chick peas), drained and rinsed

1 jar fire roasted red bell pepper, chopped

1 bunch fresh parsley (about 3/4 cup chopped leaves)

Salt to taste (approx 1/2 tsp)

Directions

  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions.
  2. Add all other ingredients and mix well.

Tips and Tricks

  • This dish is high in protein and is great as a vegetarian meal.
  • This makes a large batch, enough for 3-4 people as a main dish or 6 as a side dish.
  • The cayenne pepper gives this quinoa a nice kick of heat, but is not overpowering for the volume here. For a milder dish, reduce to 1/4 tsp.

 

Leave a Reply

