Easy Slow-Cooker Apple Butter

apple butter jam on toast

If making jam intimidates you try this easy slow-cooker method for apple butter. It would be very difficult to mess this up! It only takes a few ingredients and some time. This recipe is based on one I found on Money Saving Mom. The original blog post has super cute printable labels too!

Ingredients

6-8 pounds of apples, peeled, cored and sliced

2-3 TBSP pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups raw sugar or brown sugar (I used a combination of 1 cup raw and 1/2 cup brown)

4 TBSP ground cinnamon

1- 1 1/2 tsp ground cloves

Directions

1.  Peel, core and slice your apples. This is the hard part, unless you have one of these nifty machines. Mine is from Pampered Chef, but other companies make similar Apple Peelers.

apple peeler slicer Pampered Chef type

This is a specialized kitchen tool, but so great if you like making apple pies or jam!

2. Place the apples and vanilla in the slow cooker on low.

peeled sliced apples

Filling up the crock pot. See how nice and evenly sliced the apples are! Using the slicer made it go fast, even with my 4-year-old helping.

3. Cook for 5-6 hours or until the apples are soft.
4. Blend apples with a stick blender
5. Add sugar, cinnamon and cloves. Stir well and cook for an additional 5-6 hours on low.

apple butter jam in slow cooker crock pot

This is the first batch finished and ready for canning. The house smelled AMAZING!

Tips

  • I have a seven-quart Crock Pot (an extra big one) and used about six pounds of apples for my first batch of jam. I realized that I could safely use more the second time since they cook down so much.
  • When using the larger amount of apples I used the higher amounts of spices listed above (3 TBSP vanilla, 4 TBSP cinnamon and 1 1/2 tsp of cloves).
  • I also switched from the thick to the thin slice handle on my apple machine. I was able to really pack them in on the second batch!
  • I cooked my second batch on high, so I added 1/2 cup of water to the apples when starting them cooking to prevent any sticking or burning in the bottom of the cooker. I cooked to apples for 4 hours, added sugar & spices and cooked 2-3 hours.
  • I canned mine. I got 6 half-pints out of the first batch, and 8 half-pints out of the second batch.  If you don’t want to can it, just place in air-tight containers and keep refrigerated.
canning apple butter jam

Finished jam canned and ready to give away for Christmas. I think I need to make a few more batches — we’ve already eaten a couple pints ourselves!

 

Leave a Reply

