Wood Burning Fireplace Insert

We love our new house, but after spending the first winter here freezing and paying big bucks for electricity to run the heater, it was time to find a better solution.  We did try burning fires in our regular masonry fireplace. It was fun to do but not efficient as a heat vogelzang wood burning fireplace insertsource. Most of the heat just went up the chimney.

Paul checked with the one and only fireplace shop in town. Their estimate was around $5,000 for the insert, chimney liner and installation. Whoa, way out of our budget. I checked with the two shops down where my family lives. They were more reasonable, around $2,500 – $4,000 all together. I also started checking the internet.

I found Northline Express a company based in Michigan selling all types of wood stoves and fireplace inserts online. I found two wood burning fireplace inserts that seemed to fit our needs and were budget friendly at around $1000 for the stove, surround, and blower.

We decided to go with the Vogelzang Colonial insert. It has a 30 day in-home trial period with free return shipping, so if we aren’t happy with it for any reason we

 

can send it back. I was able to get the insert, plus the chimney liner kit for around $1300 total. I called to place my order and the woman who helped me was very nice and knowledgeable.  Paul and my father-in-law were able to install the insert and chimney liner in one day. I am so pleased with how it look and how it works!

Just so you know – I’m not getting compensated in any way for this post. I just really got a great deal on my stove and wanted to share. What a relief to have this latest home improvement project done and know that we will not freeze our behinds off again this winter!

 

3 thoughts on “Wood Burning Fireplace Insert

  1. Pingback: Cleaning Soot Off Fireplace Bricks | Lesser Homes & Gardens

  2. Pingback: Spring is on the way! | Lesser Homes & Gardens

Leave a Reply

