Buy Meat in Bulk to Save Money

meats on saleLook at all the meat I bought at Savemart on Monday! With meal plan in hand I hit the store to do my shopping. What I planned to buy was on sale (which is why it was part of my meal plan) and several packages had discount stickers.

I purchased two value-packs of ground beef (each had $4 off stickers), two tri-tips (also $4 off each), two whole chickens at $0.88 per pound, and one pack of boneless skinless chicken breasts at $1.49 pet pound. All together I spent $56.66 dollars for 29 pounds of meat. Regular price would have been $82.93, a savings of $26.27!

If you are thinking that’s a lot of meat for a family of four you are right. There is no way we could eat it all before it goes bad.  When I get the meat home I divide and repackaged it for the freezer. Ground beef I divided into one pound sections and placed in quart size freezer bags. I separated the two chickens into their own gallon bags. And finally I trimmed the tri-tips and placed them in separate gallon zipper bags. In this case I will be using the chicken breast in the next day or two so that was not packed for the freezer.

I write the date on the bags with a permanent marker and toss it in the freezer.  If I was planning on storing these meats a long time I would have wrapped them in waxed paper before placing in the freezer bags. This meat will get used up in about a month to six weeks so it should be fine in the freezer bags.

Look at my meat all packaged up and ready for the freezer!

meat packaged

Leave a Reply

