Sausage Egg Breakfast Casserole

Sausage egg breakfast casseroleI usually bring scones to MOPS when it’s my table’s turn to bring breakfast. They are easy for me and I know they will turn out great. For some reason, I decided to make an egg dish this time.

I read through a few recipes online and didn’t really like what I saw. I wanted to make an egg casserole without bread so I came up with my own. It smelled so good on the car ride to the meeting!

By the time I made it to the buffet table there were only two pieces left! At least I got to taste it…I will be making another one for my family this weekend!

Ingredients

1 lb breakfast sausage, bulk or remove from casings

8 oz. sliced mushrooms

4 green onions, sliced

4 cups shredded cheese

8 eggs

1 can evaporated milk

2 TBSP flour

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°

1. Brown the sausage in a large skillet. If using links, remove from casings and break apart while browning. Remove from pan.

browned sausage

Cook the breakfast sausage until browned.

2. Add mushrooms, onions to the skillet. If dry, add 1 tsp of butter to saute.

Sauted mushrooms and green onion

Saute mushrooms and green onions.

3. In a 9″x13″ pan layer sausage, veggies and half of the cheese. Repeat.

4. In a medium bowl beat eggs. Whisk in milk and flour, alternating. Whisk until most of the flour is incorporated. A few tiny lumps are fine.

5. Pour egg mixture evenly over the meat/veggie/cheese in the pan.

sausage and egg casserole, ready to bake

Ready for the oven.

6. Bake for 45 minutes or until center is set and top is lightly browned. Allow to cool 5 minutes before cutting into squares.

7. Serves 6 as a main dish breakfast. Or 12-15 as a brunch buffet item.

Leave a Reply

