Quick Tip: Pizza Sauce

I have been making pizza at home about once a week lately. I make the pizza dough from scratch using a recipe that doesn’t require rising. I also make the pizza sauce myself.

Pizza Sauce: 1 can (15 oz) of tomato sauce + 1 can (small) tomato paste + Italian seasoning + 1/4 tsp salt. Heat in a small pan, spread on pizza dough.

This recipe, if you can call it that, makes a good amount of sauce. I use what I need and spoon the rest into a small freezer bag. When it’s time to make pizza again I just pull it out and defrost in the microwave, which only takes about 2 minutes!

This technique can be used with all sorts of small amounts of sauces and ingredients: tomato paste, chipotle chilies, pesto sauce. Don’t let it go bad or just throw it away–save it in the freezer. And write the date and description on the bag!

Leave a Reply

