Corned Beef for St. Patrick’s Day

Corned beef in crock pot and thinly sliced fresh brussel sprouts instead of cabbage.I was a day late getting it done (and several days late getting it posted!), but we finally had our corned beef. I found a recipe on Real Simple online that looked good. It uses thinly sliced Brussels sprouts instead of cabbage.

I got home at 11:30 from a trip to my parents house and immediately got to work. I figured I would need to cook it for about 7 hours on high in the slow cooker.

I used a 5 pound corned beef with seasonings from Costco, 2 beers, 6 whole carrots and about a pound of fresh Brussels sprouts.  Slicing the sprouts in the food process was genius! I plan to use that technique again stews and soups.  They cook incredibly quickly in the hot broth. I served it up family style on a big platter. It was a huge hit with our family that night. Even my picky kids ate the beef!

The recipe includes a sauce for the beef made of sour cream, fresh tarragon and whole grain mustard (I used regular Dijon). It’s a nice touch but not really necessary. The flavor of the beef and sprouts is so good, it gets overpowered by the sauce, in my opinion.

2 thoughts on “Corned Beef for St. Patrick’s Day

    • Yay! I just ate the last of the leftovers for lunch. I think I’m going to freeze the extra corned beef so we can have it again in the fall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

