Linzer Cookies (Shortbread Cookies)

I had planned to make Paul some almond-coconut brittle for Valentine’s day, but he said he’d prefer the jam-filled Linzer cookies instead.

Here they are:

This recipe is adapted from Barefoot Contessa and is a little bit of a challenge.

3 sticks of butter (I use salted)

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3 ½ cups flour

favorite jam

Cream butter and sugar, add vanilla. Mix in flour in on low speed until the dough comes together. Wrap in plastic and chill in the refrigerator for 10 minutes. Roll out to uniform thickness and cut in desired shapes. For jam-filled cookies cut a small circle or other shape out of half the cookies. Bake at 375 for 12-15 minutes. Check frequently – cookies should be only lightly browned at he edge. Do not over bake. Allow cookies to cool completely. Dust tops with powdered sugar. Spread jam on the bottoms and assemble.

Some words of advice:

The dough can be tough to roll out. The first time I made them I didn’t mix the dough quite long enough and it was too crumbly.

This time I put the dough in the fridge to chill, but had to move on to cooking dinner. An hour and a half later when I took it out it was hard as a rock! I had to let it sit out on the counter for a while until it was workable again.

I purchased a cute set of heart-shaped cutters before Valentine’s Day so I was eager to try them out. Unfortunately, the smallest heart was not small enough to work with the cookies, so I had to cut the little hearts out by hand.

I’m pleased with how they turned out, but they are not something I want to make on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

