What’s For Dinner: Enchiladas & Mexican Rice

Today’s assignment for the What’s For Dinner Solution Blogger Challenge is to post about a favorite family recipe. It’s hard for me to pick a favorite that I haven’t already blogged about!

Being from California, we eat a lot of Mexican food. Sometimes it’s the more “Americanized” Mexican food, but still, it’s tasty and fast.  Tonight I made chicken enchiladas with all the leftover chicken meat from Monday night.  The recipe is over HERE.

I knew the enchiladas would be a snap to put together so I started on my side dish first: Mexican rice.

Everybody has their own version of Mexican rice. It’s kind of like spaghetti sauce – lots of variations and most are great. I usually just wing it and it always turns out good.  I’ll try to approximate the measurements for those who would like to give it a try:

MEXICAN RICE

2 TBSP vegetable oil

2 c. white rice

1 medium onion, diced

1 TBSP fresh minced garlic

4 c. water

1 (8 oz.) can of tomato sauce

1 tsp  Better Than Bouillon

2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

 

In a 12″ skillet heat the vegetable oil over medium heat. Add the rice and cook, stirring until lightly browned. Add the chopped onion and garlic. Cook for one minute. Add the water.  Mix in tomato sauce and seasonings. Cover and simmer on low for 20-30 minutes. Do not stir. Remove from heat and stir to fluff up the rice.

Here are some photos to help:

Brown the rice in oil

 

Add onion and garlic

 

Add the water. CAUTION: It will boil and have a lot of steam.

 

Add tomato sauce and seasonings. You could substitute some canned diced tomatoes with juice.

Cooking is complete.

Finished fluffy Mexican rice.

 

11 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner: Enchiladas & Mexican Rice

  1. Thanks for posting this, Kerry! There is nothing like real, homemade Mexican rice! I love the whole idea of cooking ahead and would love more info on this whole “What’s for Dinner” stuff! Working full-time with 3 kids I am always stressing out about what to put on the table!

    Like

    • I’m really liking it. I made those two chickens on Monday and then used the left-over meat to make enchiladas for dinner PLUS I made two 8×8 pans of enchiladas for the freezer. That’s two dinners down the road that I already have done.

      Like

  2. Hey Kerry, been looking for a good Mexican
    Rice recipe, this one looks great! If Im not
    A big fan of cumin, would you leave it out
    Or substitute it? Thanks for the post, gonna
    Try it:)

    Like

    • You could go light on the cumin, or leave it out. Maybe use some fresh cilantro or just additional onion and/or garlic.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Lesser Homes & Gardens » Blog Archive » Chile Verde Pork

  4. Tried it with brown rice as I was out of white. Simmered for 30 minutes and there’s still heaps of liquid in the pan :-(. Guess I’ll strain it to see if the rice at least tastes ok.

    Like

    • I’ve never tried with brown rice. My guess would be that it would take much longer to cook, maybe 45 minutes to an hour. Check the rice for fondness and let that be your guide. If there is still too much liquid remove the lid and let it simmer and evaporate some of the excess. Sorry it’s not working for you!

      Like

  5. I decided to try the rice before I did anything. It was still on the hard side. Simmered it (covered) for another 20 minutes and it came out pretty good and liquid was absorbed. Thankful to my pampered chef pan for not burning the rice or causing it to stick 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

