Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

As I was passing through the baking aisle and saw some dark chocolate chips. Ghirardelli Bittersweet 60% Cacao chips to be exact.  I’m a fan of dark chocolate so I decided to try some chocolate chip cookies with these dark chips.

But which cookie recipe to use? I’m not a huge fan of the Nestle Toll House recipe, the cookies run a little too much and end up flat.  I tried one from my Better Homes and Gardens  cookbook the last time, but it had a weird flavor with both butter and shortening.  The best cookie recipe is my mom’s oatmeal chocolate chip recipe, but it makes about 5 dozen, which is way too many.

I took a chance and went with the recipe on the bag from Ghirardelli.  It actually worked really well.  The cookies turned out thick instead of runny and had great flavor.  Not too salty, and yummy strong chocolate flavor.  I added chopped walnuts because that’s what I had on hand.  I think pecans would have been nice too.

Here is the recipe:

Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 ¼ c. flour

1 tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. salt

1 c. butter, softened

¾ c. sugar

¾ c. brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 large eggs

10 oz. Bittersweet chocolate chips

1 c. chopped nuts

 

Mix flour, soda and salt, set aside. Cream butter and sugars. Add vanilla to creamed mixture.  Add eggs, beating on low speed after each one. Mix on low until combined.  Gradually blend in dry mixture.   Stir in chocolate and nuts  by hand.

Drop by rounded tablespoons onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375° for 9 to 11 minutes, or until golden brown.

I would also recommend having a cute boy help you.  That makes it extra fun.

 

One thought on “Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Dove Dark Chocolate | | local-business-network.comlocal-business-network.com

Leave a Reply

