Russian Chicken – Crock Pot Version

Russian Chicken is a big hit with us. It was served at our wedding rehearsal dinner and more recently it was the subject of my first article on BlogCritics.org.

Today it was my turn to make dinner for a friend who just had a baby.  I decided I would make the family Russian Chicken, and some for us too. But the timing was going to be off if I put both dishes in the oven early.  I quickly came up with a solution using my trusty Crock Pot.

I prepared the dinner for delivery in the usual way – baked in the oven.  Knowing that I would be away from the house for an hour or more to make the delivery, I set up our chicken in the crock pot.  I had to guess on the time and temperature, so I  placed it on high and set the timer for three hours, just to be safe.  The total cooking time was just 2½ hours. It was just as good as the usual method, perhaps even better.

Ingredients:

4-6 whole boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 cup Wishbone Russian salad dressing

1 cup apricot preserves

1 package onion soup mix

Directions:

Mix dressing, jam and soup mix in a small bowl.  Place chicken pieces in the crock pot. Cover with sauce and cook on high setting for 2-3 hours.  Serve with steamed rice and salad or vegetable. It was great to be able to leave the house with dinner safely cooking. Crock-Pot to the rescue once again!

 

3 thoughts on “Russian Chicken – Crock Pot Version

Leave a Reply

