Make at Home (Baked) Tortilla Chips

baked tortilla chipsI had a HUGE stack of corn tortillas in my fridge. Apparently I thought we really needed 30 tortillas for taco night with our friends and their two kids. (Sure crazy lady, the kids will eat a total of four tortillas between the four of them, so that leaves 26 for four adults.) Turns out I already had quite a few tortillas in the fridge, so I didn’t even use the new bag. Whatever.

Fast forward a week and a half, and I have a ton of tortillas left. I decided today that I’d make some chips out of them. I’d never done it before, but that doesn’t stop me from trying.  I checked a few recipes online to get a general sense of how people did it, and then went for it.

The How To:

Oven at 350°. Cut the tortillas into triangles. I drizzled on some vegetable oil and tossed them in a bowl to coat lightly, then arranged them on cookie sheets in a single layer.  I baked for 8 minutes, then turned them over and baked some more.  It took about 12 minutes total per batch. Sprinkled them generously with salt.

I did a bunch (20+ tortillas) so it took a while, but it was worth it!  They are delish! So give it a try.  Impress your guests with fresh tortilla chips.  All I need now is some good homemade guacamole or salsa to go with them. Mmmm.

 

2 thoughts on “Make at Home (Baked) Tortilla Chips

  1. Pingback: Restaurant Style Salsa | Lesser Homes & Gardens

  2. Pingback: Restaurant Style Salsa | Kerry Bakes

Leave a Reply

