Apple Pie

My husband requested pies for his Father’s Day treat.  Apple, coconut cream and lemon to be exact.  I also made a batch of vanilla ice cream.  Yum!

I have a handy gadget to prepare the apples.  It’s a peeler/corer/slicer machine that I bought from Pampered Chef.  I know other places sell similar items.  The Pampered Chef model comes with a narrow gauge handle, but has the option to purchase a wide slice handle.  I used the wider slice and like it the best.

Apple Peeler/Core/Slicer in action!

I’m usually not one for kitchen gadgets, but this is a specialized tool that does it’s job perfectly. Well worth the $20 if you bake pies a few times a year.  I was able to peel, core and slice eight apples in about five minutes!

Ready for the top crust.

Here’s my pie in the process.  I cheated and used a store-bought pie crust because I was short on time and I’m also not great at making crusts.

My mom makes an excellent pie crust and I’m totally intimidated by it.  I have her recipe, but I haven’t practiced enough to feel confident that it will turn out every time.

Finished unbaked apple pie

Into the oven we go!

If you need a simple apple pie recipe, here’s what I do:

2 pie crusts

6-8 baking apples (I like Granny Smith for pies)

2 TBSP flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

Peel, core and slice the apples.  In a large bowl mix the flour, sugar and cinnamon.  Put the apples in the bowl and mix until coated. Roll out the bottom pie crust and line a 9″ pie plate.  Fill with the apples and cover with the top crust.  Seal the edge by pinching and fluting.  Cut vents in the top crust with a sharp knife.  Make a ring of foil and to keep the crust from getting too done around the edge. Bake at 375° for 25 minutes, remove foil, and bake an additional 25-30 minutes.  The top should be golden brown.

Some nice touches to make the basic pie more interesting are adding nutmeg, raisins and/or walnuts, or brushing the crust with an egg wash.  To make an egg wash, simply beat one egg and brush it on the crust before baking.  It will give the crust a shiny gold color.  If you really want to get fancy sprinkle some coarse sugar over the egg wash.

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Frugal Friday: U-Pick Berries | Lesser Homes & Gardens

  2. Thanks for all your efforts on this blog. My mother delights in getting into investigation and it’s simple to grasp why. We know all about the dynamic ways you provide worthwhile ideas by means of the web site and even improve participation from the others on the content while our favorite child is without question starting to learn a whole lot. Have fun with the remaining portion of the new year. You are always performing a terrific job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

