Coffee Cake

Bisquik coffee cake recipeI love coffee cake!  The recipe used to be on the box of Bisquik, but in recent years its disappeared.  I last saw it on a giant (Costco size) box of Bisquik at my mom’s house a few years ago. I had Paul copy down the recipe for me so we could make it at home. Now I have the recipe ready to use whenever I need it!

 Ingredients:

Cake:

2 c. Bisquik mix
2/3 c. milk
1 egg
2 TBSP sugar

Topping:

1/3 c. Bisquik
1/3 c. brown sugar, packed
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 TBSP  butter, firm

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°.  Mix cake ingredients in a large bowl.  Spread into greased 8″x8″ pan.  Mix topping ingredients together, then cut in butter with a pastry cutter or fork.  Mixture should be evenly crumbly.  Sprinkle topping over cake batter and bake for 18-22 minutes.  Check that the cake is done by inserting a toothpick into the center of the cake.  If it comes out clean you are set.

I like to make a big 9″x13″ pan of coffee cake, so I double the cake recipe and triple the topping.  That way the top of the cake has a nice thick brown sugar layer!  Yum!

Leave a Reply

