Black and Blueberry Muffins

I founds some Buy One, Get One deals of blackberries recently.  I love blackberries, but I didn’t really have enough to make a cobbler or anything like that.

Instead, I found a recipe on allrecipes.com for a muffin with blackberries and blueberries. It has whole wheat flour, wheat germ and fresh blackberries and blueberries.  What more could you want?  The only trouble was that it called for half and half, which I didn’t have.  So I made a substitution as suggested by others who had tried the recipe – 1 cup vanilla yogurt and 1 cup milk in place of the 2 cups half and half.

I let Sean help me with the mixing.  He loves to help cook, so today was a good time since Audrey was napping.  Here’s the result:

They are a little on the dense side with the wheat flour, but the fresh fruit makes them a tasty treat!  I will definitely be making these again.

A word of caution: The recipe said to grease the muffin tins, but I decided to use paper liners instead, thinking that

would make it easier.  Well, that backfired a little–they were stuck to the liners.  Now that they are completely cooled, the paper is coming off better, but still not cleanly.  I think I will just grease the pans next time!

 

Leave a Reply

