Chicken Stir Fry

This is what I made for dinner last night, a stir fry of chicken with loads of veggies. 

Recipe: Sorry no exact amounts, it’s stir fry — I just wing it!

chicken breasts, cut into 1″ pieces

vegetable oil

broccoli

celery

red, yellow and green bell pepper

fresh bean sprouts

snow peas

Thai flavor herb paste  – found in the produce section with other fresh herb pastes

Cooked brown rice

I cooked the chicken first with a little vegetable oil, salt and pepper.  When it was cooked through I added the Thai paste.   I removed the chicken from the pan, added a tiny bit of vegetable oil and then the veggies.  I stir fried it until the broccoli was tender.  I served it on a small helping of brown rice.

This meal was a way to use up the fresh veggies I had left from last week’s shopping trip. I made this in keeping with the SBD Phase 2 guidelines. 

The Thai flavor herb paste was spicy and the ginger gave it a nice aromatic quality.  I didn’t check the label until after I was cooking, but it did have some dextrose (a sugar) in it.  I don’t think it matters since a small amount is used for the entire meal.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Recent South Beach Meals « Kerry Writes…

Leave a Reply

